top of page
  • Writer's pictureUR Department of History

Peer Advisor Corner: Kirsten Bell


Hello! My name is Kirsten and I'm one of the Undergraduate Peer Advisors for the History Department. I'm a senior majoring in History and Classical Civilization and minoring in English Literature. I'm also the Editor-in-Chief of LOGOS: UR's Art & Literature Journal and the Secretary of UR Celtic!


I am the Peer Advisor primarily in charge of the undergraduate weekly newsletters and I also work with our Graduate Assistant, Katelyn, on the Alumni newsletters. Some other things I do in the department are handling the undergraduate major/minor declaration forms, designing event posters and promotional materials, and hanging up event posters around campus. I also assist our Business Admin, Jacqui, and our Academic Admin, Melissa, with other tasks around the office.


Probably one of the most rewarding things that I've gained in my position is a better understanding of just how special this department is. Even though I knew that the professors and staff were amazing from being a History major myself, now that I interact with more of the department I see firsthand what a supportive and close-knit community it is. All of the people here truly care about each other but also have a passion for their fields that they pass onto their students.


There is always a friendly face around the department and it is so heartwarming to see what great things happen here. Especially listening to my friends (who are primarily in STEM fields) talk about how they wished that their professors took more of an interest in them, or that they wished they had more of a community, I appreciate this department even more. I've had faculty be enthusiastic about extracurriculars I do, like Irish dancing in UR Celtic, and accomplishments I receive, like being invited into Phi Beta Kappa, and be supportive in all of the academic and even non-academic endeavors I do.


Be assured that great things are happening in the History Department!


Sincerely,

Kirsten Bell

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page