top of page
  • Writer's pictureUR Department of History

Staff Spotlight: Tessa Vande Creek

Updated: Mar 9, 2018

To celebrate the redesign of our blog, we are introducing the department’s professional and student staff in a 6-part “Staff Spotlight” series. Today we’re featuring Tess!



Fast Facts

Name: Tess Vande Creek

Position: Student Assistant

Hometown: Middletown, NJ

Education: UR Class of 2019, Majoring in Film and Media Studies (Production) and Business

With the department since: Sarah and I started together in February of last year!


What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done?

I studied abroad in New Zealand last semester! In that time I road tripped for a total of a month and a half, flew on 37 different planes, and visited five countries: Greece, United Arab Emirates, New Zealand, Australia, and the Cook Islands. It was definitely the craziest thing I have ever done.


If you could witness any historical event, which one would you want to see and why?Definitely the Women’s March in 2017. I really wish I had been able to get there but I had a project due that Monday. Nonetheless, I’m SO proud to be part of a generation that advocates for equal human rights for everyone.


What do you like to do in your spare time?

I am a photographer! I love taking landscape shots, and I’m learning (through failing) about what it takes to get the perfect portrait shot. But I am obsessed with night photography and long exposure (check out one of my shots from NZ)!


Where would you go on your dream vacation?

ICELAND. I want to go there so badly. My sister and I are planning to head there sometime after I graduate.

What’s the most important thing you’ve learned in the last five years?

Not every action deserves a reaction! Sometimes it’s better to sit back and learn from the mistakes of people around you.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page