top of page
  • Writer's pictureUR Department of History

Staff Spotlight: Sarah Murphy

Updated: Mar 9, 2018

To celebrate the redesign of our blog, we are introducing the department’s professional and student staff in a 6-part “Staff Spotlight” series. Today’s featured staff member is Sarah!



Fast Facts

Name: Sarah Murphy

Position: Office Assistant

Hometown: Denver, CO

Education: UR Class of 2019, English and French Major

With the department since: February 2017














What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done?

It’s hard for me to pick just one, but I’d say either performing with my vocal jazz ensemble at the Lincoln Center, participating in the Women’s March on Washington last year, or studying abroad in France last summer.



If you could witness any historical event, which one would you want to see and why?

I would love to have been an audience member when one of Shakespeare’s plays was first performed at the Globe Theatre—probably either Hamlet or A Midsummer Night’s Dream, since those are my two favorites.


What do you like to do in your spare time?

I love to cook and bake (the more complicated the recipe, the better!), and I’m a documentary movie junkie. I also enjoy yoga, singing, and arranging music.


Where would you go on your dream vacation?

Someday I want to go to back to France for the sole purpose of eating my way across the country. I love bread, stinky cheese, and pastries, and I think French cuisine in general is just wonderful. Being there for 2 or 3 weeks and just eating everything in sight would basically be a dream come true.


What’s the most important thing you’ve learned in the last five years?

You don’t have to do what everyone else is doing or compare yourself to anyone. Run your own race and you’ll always win.



78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page